Coffee, $80, and dung… oh my.

When I started this blog, I never thought I would write a post about dung. That’s right you heard me, DUNG.

Rachael Bale, a write for National Geographic, wrote an article last year titled, The Disturbing Secret Behind the World’s Most Expensive Coffee.I clicked on this article, assuming that the most expensive coffee would have gold in it or something of the sorts. Never in my wildest, barista dreams would that secret be that this coffee bean came from dung.

This coffee is called Kopi Luwak and as Bale wrote,”can sell for as much as $80 in the United States.” That’s $80 for a cup of coffee from dung. My mind is blown.

So what animal’s dung are we talking about here? The answer: a civet. Next question: What the heck is a civet??? The answer:

Hmmmmm… I honestly can’t decide if they’re cute or scary.

So how exactly does the world’s most expensive coffee come from this cute/scary animal’s poop?

The civets eat the coffee beans and they come out as partially digested. Bales write, “Although the civets’ digestive process does make the coffee smoother, it also removes the good acids and flavor that characterize a specialty cup of coffee”

01civets-coffee.adapt.945.1
Photo credit: news.nationalgeographic.com

If you thought it couldn’t get much worse, some of these animals are now being caged and fed strictly coffee cherries, just so famers can make more money.

Bale states, “All of this for a luxury item—and a second-rate one, at that. Part of what makes kopi luwak so special, experts say, is that wild civets pick and choose the choicest coffee cherries to eat. Keeping civets in cages and feeding them any old cherries leads to an inferior product.”

So my opinion: If you want to spend $80 on a cup of coffee that comes from the dung of possibly caged up animals, be my guest. I think I’ll pass on this one though.

 

Leave a Reply

