See you in a week!

If you’ve started following my blog, I wanted to let you know that I will not be posting for a week. It’s spring break here at Purdue (FINALLY) and I will be going to Boston with my lovely grandma. We’re so excited to sight see, eat lots of seafood, and hopefully hit up a few local coffee shops.

While I’m gone, I wanted to preview some things you can do with used coffee grounds at home. I found an awesome list of ideas from the blog, The Prairie Homestead. Starbucks gives away used coffee grounds for free, so pick some up and try out a few of these “15 Creative Uses for Coffee Grounds”

Below, I’m going to post my reaction and experience to a few of these uses that I got from the The Prairie Homestead. If you follow me on Instagram, you might of saw that I featured two of them already, but will talk more about them in detail here.

Plant food
  • On her blog Jill writes,”Coffee grounds are acidic, which makes them a great soil amendment for blueberries, roses, hydrangeas, and other acid-loving plants.”
  • I did this with the plants in my apartments. I did some research and here is a list of plants that fall into this category.
  • I’ve taken a chance and added coffee grounds to all my plants and they are still healthy and alive! I haven’t notice a dramatic increase in growth, but it doesn’t hurt to fertilize every once in awhile right?

    FullSizeRender-9
    Treat your plants to your favorite coffee.
Cooking
  •  Jill, recommends these recipes.
    • I haven’t been brave enough to do this yet because the list of foods I can cook is very short (Feel free to ask me about about the time I set my kitchen on fire with one, single noodle), but I think the Coffee and Cocoa Rubbed Ribs sound yummy. If you try any of these or other recipes, let me know and I’ll check them out!
“No more stinky hands”
  • Jill writes, “Keep a container of coffee grounds by your kitchen sink and rub on smelly hands after cutting up onions, fish, or garlic.”
  • I do NOT recommend this one. The coffee grounds may stop your hands from smelling like these smelly foods, but only because they will just make your hands smell like coffee. As a barista, I know first hand how difficult it is to get this smell off your hands. It can linger for days.
Coffee scrub
  • I convinced my boyfriend to let me try my own version of this on him a couple weeks ago. It was just straight up coffee grounds, so Jill’s version sounds better.
  • His review: “The smell is kind of bad, but my face did feel softer!”
  • We left the coffee grounds on for about 5 minutes and then scrubbed them off. He then washed him face like he normally does to get rid of the smell.FullSizeRender-8
Hair rinse
  • Jill writes, “There are many different ideas floating around for coffee hair treatments, but the simplest I’ve found is to massage the grounds into your hair and rinse thoroughly for added shine”
  • This one is right up my alley. I love natural hair remedies.
  • I have a secret, that I do not tell very many people. I don’t wash my hair. Long story short, about 2 years ago, I stopped buying shampoo and let my hair do it’s natural thing.
    • Like almost everyone who make this decision, mine went through the stage where it produce large amounts oil because the shampoo wasn’t striping it away anymore (Not going to lie, it was pretty gross) After 3 months, my oil distribution finally  started to calm down and my hair didn’t look or feel gross anymore and it’s mostly been that way ever since. Because I know you’re thinking it, I’ll go ahead and answer, no it does not smell. (I make exceptions and wash it when I need to look professional).
    • Now I simply wash with water and use a special brush, to bring the oil down from my roots. About once a month, I use olive oil and honey to condition it.I’m  saving a ton of money and my hair feels healthier.
    • I tried this coffee remedy and loved it! I highly recommend, but just make sure you rinse, rinse, rinse. And then rinse again.
Coffee candles
  • This I will be trying and featuring on my blog when I get back so stay tuned.  It sounds so cool. Jill found these instructions, if you want to try it out too.

    2970d7c2e234485e_P1160937
    Photo credit: popsugar.com

I’ll resume posting next week, so be adventurous this week and try some of these things!

 

Leave a Reply

