Got a cold? Better head to… Starbucks?

*First things first, I just wanted to let everyone know that we will be taking a break from coffee/tea shop of the week for the next two weeks. Don’t worry though, I still have some interesting blog posts up my sleeve for you.*


Today I worked a shift at my Starbucks, and a woman ordered the medicine ball drink. My reaction: what the heck is that?! She told me and I thought this would be the perfect type of thing to write a blog post over.  I went home and did some research and this is what I found.

USA Today reported, “People began ordering the drink in October, and the company decided to make the medicine ball an official drink during Starbucks Annual Shareholder Meeting in March,  according to Megan Adams, a Starbucks spokeswoman said in an email statement.”

This was news to me and today was the first time I and the other barista working had every heard of it. Clearly, it has not been too popular at our store, but that just shows how different each store really is.

The medicine ball tea is made up of steamed lemonade, hot water, Teavana’s Jade Citrus Mint tea, honey and peppermint.

Here are some customer reviews of it I found on Facebook and Twitter:

@MorganJane33 tweeted:

and included this picture:

FullSizeRender-4
She is clearly loving the Medicine Ball Tea. Photo Credit: @MorganJane33

@HenryKIR07 tweeted:

It seems like he got the hook up for his cold. (The recipe is different here, so some stores may do it differently).

Erica Roglin posted this on Facebook.

 

I tried the drink today and wow, it really did taste like something that would help clean out your sinuses. I’m not a big fan of green tea, but I actually really liked this. It reminded me a bit of Theraflu.

If I get sick this spring (fingers crossed I don’t), I will definitely order this.

Leave a Reply

