Now you see it… Now you don’t.

So my original plan for this post was to do a coffee shop of the week on Java Roaster because I’ve heard really great things about this little coffee shop in Lafayette. Unfortunately the time that I did go to check it out, they were actually closed, when they were suppose to be open.

BUT something has rocked the coffee world this last week and we need to talk about it.

The Unicorn Frappucino at Starbucks has disappeared, just like an actual unicorn would (I mean if they were real of course). People are loosing their minds over this mythical frappucino.

A28B477E88B34E539A8F059EFE4C91BD
Rare indeed. Photo credit: Starbucks.com

Starbucks was suppose to have the drink available for the last week, but most stores had run out after the first day. My small kiosk store in the grocery store that I work at was sent one box of ingredients, and we ran out in 2 days. We tried calling other stores, but they were out too. Just like that, the unicorns had left Starbucks.

I wish that I could tell you how to make the Unicorn Frappucino or what it tastes like, but to be honest I have no idea. I never even had the chance to make it or try it. All I know is that it was a little bit sour, a little bit sweet and tasted somewhat like a Sweet Tart.

Starbucks-Unicorn-Frappuccino-Collage
Photo credit: Starbuckssecretmenu.net

The one thing I do know for sure is that people want it back and they want it back now. At work on Saturday, I’m estimating that I had at least 25 customers come up and ask about it. They wanted to know if we had it, if it was returning, and if they could find it anywhere else. All three of those questions have the same answer; NO.

I honestly do not know what Starbucks has up their sleeves for the Unicorn Frap, but for the sake of any Starbucks barista, hopefully it will make a return soon.

In my opinion it has brought with it a lot of chaos, but I get it. If you find something you like, it’s hard when you can’t seem to find it again. Especially when it comes to food.

Until unicorns grace Starbucks with their presence again, here are some other rare frappucinos, you can try:

  1. Frankenstein Frap: matcha powder, java chips, and peppermint. No coffee.
  2. Cotton Candy Frap: Vanilla bean and Raspberry. No coffee.
  3. Teddy Grahams Frap: Cinnamon Dolce, vanilla and honey. Coffee.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

